33rd Stockport Rapidplay
Sunday 27th January, 2019

The Individual Rapidplay was held at the Guildhall Stockport on 27th January 2019 as part of the 33rd Rapidplay organised by Stockport chess club.

There were 140 players which was a considerable increase on the number last year.

In the Open there were 19 players. First place was shared by Adam Ashton (3Cs) and Joseph Mc Phillips with 5 points. The U180 prize was won by Athar Ansari (Newport) with 3 ½.

In the Major there were 27 players with 6 SL registered. First prize was won by Phil Seery (Bare Village) with 5 ½. The U150 prize was won by Stephen Hill with 4.

Dan Sheppard (Stockport) won the SL Trophy with 4.

In the Intermediate there were 35 players with 15 SL registered. First prize was won by Mick Norris (Bury) with 5 ½. The U125 prize was shared between Neville Layhe (Crewe), Alex Sosnowski (Eccles), Stephen Whatmore (Rugeley) and Gerry Whitehead (Eccles) with 3 ½.

Marc Jouannett (Macclesfield) won the SL Trophy with 4 ½ points.

In the Minor there were 50 players with 15 SL registered. First prize was won by Denzel Supatan (Ashton) with 5 ½ .The U91 prize was won by Khalid Mehmood (Manchester) with 4. The Ungraded prize was won by Ben Fearnhead (Poulton- Le- Fylde) with 4. The U 18yr prize was won by Edward Jackson (3Cs) with 4 ½ and the U 12yr by Dawn Supatan (Ashton) with 3 ½ .

The SL Trophy was won by Vijay Kakarparthi (Altrincham) with 5.

The Veteran prize was shared by three Stockport Members, Andy Reeve, John Reed and Andy Coe with 4.

The organisers would like to thank those players who gave donations and the Controllors, Rod Middleton in the Open, Gareth Griffiths in the Major, John Wain in the Intermediate and Peter Taylor in the Minor.

The next SRP is scheduled for Sunday 26th January 2020 at the Guildhall.