Skip to content

Meet the Team

Club Officials

Gareth Griffiths

Club Secretary

Gareth joined the Club in 2015 and played a key role in the Limit League team's undefeated and championship-winning season.

He spent the next 3 seasons as Captain of various teams before taking over as Club Secretary in 2019.

Mike Taylor

president emeritus

Mike is one of the longest tenured club members. Club President between 2016 and 2022 he has now taken a step back but remains an active club member.

Peter Taylor

club legend

No-one remembers a time when Peter wasn't a member of Stockport Chess Club.

Peter has also organised the Stockport Rapidplay Congress since 1987 on behalf of the Club.

Maggie Douglas


Maggie joined the club in 2021 and has quickly become a fixture at club evenings. She has taken up the role of Treasurer in 2022.

Andy Coe

team captain

Andy Coe is currently Captain of the first team in both the Stockport and Manchester Leagues.

Ian Anderson

team captain

Ian has been Captain of several teams for many years including winning the Limit League in 3 of the previous 5 years.

He currently captains the second team in both Stockport and Manchester Leagues, as well as the Limit League team in the Stockport League.