Skip to content

Stockport Rapidplay Congress

An annual event held on the final Sunday in January every year.

35th Stockport Rapidplay Congress

Took place on Sunday 29th January 2023 at The Guildhall on Wellington Road South.


We welcomed 119 players to the Congress yesterday competing in four sections, and we gave out over £1,600 in prizes.

10 players competed in the Open Section which was won by Nigel Davies with a perfect 6/6, and Allan Beardsworth and Edward Jackson shared 2nd place with 4/6. The grading prize (under 2000) was won by Chris Jardine with 3/6.

18 players competed in the Major Section. Tetsuaki Sanada won with 5/6 (also winning the Stockport League Trophy), and David Burgess and Chris Vassiliou shared 2nd place a half-point behind on 4.5/6. The grading prize (under 1820) was split 5 ways between players on 3.5/6

34 players competed in the Intermediate Section. Alan Riddoch won with a perfect 6/6 followed by Mohammed Khan in 2nd on 5.5/6 and Trevor Woodfinden in 3rd on 5/6. The under-1600 grading prize was won by David Johnson with 4.5/6

The Stockport League Trophy in the Intermediate was won by Andrew Beswick with 3/6

The Minor Section saw 57 players compete. 1st place was shared between Phil Shaughnessy (also Stockport League Trophy winner) and Philip Smith on 5.5/6 with Richard Lunt in 3rd on 5/6.

Grading prizes were won with 4.5/6 by Paul Ashton (under 1350) and Mahin Rughani (under 1250). The prize for best UG player was won by Anastasios Giorgi with 4.5/6

The junior prize (under 18) was shared by Ben Woodfinden and Grieg Ichim on 4/6, and the Under-14 prize by Bryony Eccleston, also with 4/6.

The Veteran Prize (highest scoring veteran in all sections) was won by Steven Kelly of East Cheshire, with 4/6 in the Minor.

Entry List

If you have entered online you should have received an email confirming receipt of your entry. If you haven't, please check your spam folder.

The entry list (complete to 2.30pm Friday 27th January) can be viewed here.


Online entries are now closed.

It will be possible to enter on the day.

If entering on the day, please arrive in plenty of time to allow for registration so that we can start promptly. Payment on the day will be cash only.

of prizes won


The Open Section open to all players

The Major Section for players rated under 1950

The Intermediate Section for players rated under 1750

The Minor Section for players rated under 1500


In all sections:

1st Place: £150
2nd Place: £100
3rd Place: £50
Grading Prizes: £50 (depending on number of entries)

Veteran prize for the highest scoring over-65 in the whole tournament.

Junior prizes awarded depending on number and age of entrants.

The highest scoring Stockport League registered player in the Major, Intermediate, and Minor sections will be awarded an individual trophy.

Entry Fees

  Adult Junior (Under 18)
ECF Bronze / Non-Member £34 £22
ECF Silver, Gold, or Platinum £25 £19

Late entry fee of £5 for entries received after Saturday 21st January 2023

Groups of 5 or more can deduct £3 per person from above fees when:

  1. entering and paying before the day
  2. using this online form to enter (to appear in due course)


Round One

10.00 am
Round Two 11.20 am
Round Three 12.40 pm
Round Four 2.10 pm
Round Five 3.30 pm
Round Six 4.50 pm
Prizegiving 6.15 pm

Each player has 30 minutes for all moves; there is no increment.


The Guildhall can be found at 169 Wellington Road South (A6), Stockport, SK1 3UA

There is a large supervised car park at the rear of the Guildhall, entrance on Brentnall Street (£3 per car payable on entry).

Stockport rail and bus stations are 1/2 mile walk up the A6 (10-15 minutes); Davenport rail station is less than one mile walk (20-25 minutes) or by bus 192 or 378A


Further Details

Players may request a Half Point Bye for the First Round at time of entry.

ECF Grades from December 2022 will be used. RP grades will take preference over LP ones. Grades used will be subject to the discretion of the organizers.

Ungraded players must give details of their strength, previous results, and any previous grade. Except in the open section, they may only win one half of the first or second place prize. All other prizes will be paid in full.

It is a condition of entry that the organizers' decision in any dispute is final.

There will be a bookstall provided by Chess Essentials with chess books, DVDs, sets and boards. Anyone wishing to pre-order should contact Howard at or 07914 885 976

Further Questions?

For anything not covered above, please contact us using this form.


Peter Taylor

Event Organiser

Peter has organised and run the Stockport Rapidplay for over 30 years since its inauguration

Gareth Griffiths

Event Organiser

Gareth has been a section controller since 2017 and helped to organise the event since 2018

Previous Years


138 players competed across 4 sections with section winners: Paul Macklin and Joshua Pink 4.5/6 (Open); Sam Davies 5.5/6 (Major); Sam Parry 6/6 (Inter); and Dawn Supatan 5.5/6 (Minor)


140 players competed and section winners were: Adam Ashton and Joe McPhillips 5/6 (Open); Phil Seery 5.5/6 (Major); Mick Norris 5.5/6 (Inter); Denzel Supatan 5.5/6 (Minor)


123 players competed and section winners were: Nigel Davies 5.5/6 (Open); Mark Hann and Andrew Jacques 5/6 (Major); Richard Renegade 5.5/6 (Inter); Andrew Beswick and Sam Hayman 5.5/6 (Minor)


126 players competed and section winners were: Joe McPhillips 5.5/6 (Open); Nicholas Barnaby 5.5/6 (Major); Graham Ashcroft, Rob McLean, and Ian Stone 5/6 (Inter); Anthony Hunt 5.5/6 (Minor)


128 players competed and section winners were: Robert Shaw and Joe McPhillips 4.5/6 (Open); Nicholas Martin 5/6 (Major); Piotr Lipka 5.5/6 (Inter); Greg O'Connor, Holly Jacobson, John Kelly and George Scattergood 5/6 (Minor)


149 players competed and section winners were: Adam Ashton 6/6 (Open); Joao Rita 5.5/6 (Major); Geraint George 5.5/6 (Inter); Stephen Crockett 6/6 (Minor)